Food

Fruit Ice Cubes

Hey y’all, hope you all are having great week so far. I have been wanting to make this post just been procrastinated. I have been trying to drink more water and sometimes that is hard. Also trying to get kids to drink it too can be difficult, at least with my daughter. She has only one kidney so I have to make her drink water. You can read more about why she has one kidney here. I have to have cold water to really enjoy it, and that doesn’t always happen. Driking more than a few cups of water can be tiring because it has NO taste to it all. So sometimes I infuse my water with different fruits to give it some flavor. So one day I decided to make ice cubes and freeze them with the fruit! It would make it easy and fun lol.

 

The first fruit cubes I made were strawberries and white peaches.

  1. 1 cup of diced strawberries
  2. 1 cup of diced white peaches
  3. 2 cups of water, I used bottled water

Strawberries have Vitamin C, calcium, iron, and protein.

White peaches have sources of Vitamin A. They have minerals such as potassium, fluoride, and iron.

When I was ready to make my cubes I of course used 2 ice cube trays laid them out side by side and added a few pieces of each fruit. Fill the tray a little over half way with the fruit and then add your water. Once you have done these steps they are ready to be put in the freezer. Add them to your cup of water and enjoy.

fullsizeoutput_11a4

fullsizeoutput_11a3

The next cubes I made were blueberries and oranges.

  1. 1 cup of blueberries, whole
  2. 1 cups of orange slices, chopped smaller to fit in the cubes.
  3. 2 cups of water, bottled.

So just a few pieces of each fruit will be placed in the individual cube trays. You will add your water to each cube and the place in freezer. Once frozen you will add to a nice glass of water and you will then have flavored water!

Blueberry nutrition Facts

Orange Nutrition Facts

 

fullsizeoutput_11a6

Lastly I made strawberries and mint ice cubes.

  1. 2 sprigs of mint leaves
  2. 1 cup of strawberries
  3. 2 cups of water, bottled

Add a few strawberries to each cube tray and 1 mint leave to each. The mint brings a stronger flavor so you don’t need much of it.

Strawberries have Vitamin C, calcium, iron, and protein.

Mint Nutrition Facts

 

fullsizeoutput_11ac

fullsizeoutput_11ab

 

Making these make it easier to drink my water throughout the day because of the flavor and also helps me with some vitamins. IT also makes it easy for kids who don’t like water, such as my daughter Cami.

What are some of you favorite fruit infusions to make?

Thanks for stopping by the blog today.

blog5

Disclaimer: I am in no way a nutritionist or doctor and I did my own research about the nutrition facts.

One thought on “Fruit Ice Cubes

Leave a Reply

