Family · Life

Breastfeeding 

ebf

 

I have had my mind on breastfeeding since I found out I was pregnant. I was determined because I wasn’t too successful with my daughter Camille. I breastfed for about two months and I just gave up. I was younger and couldn’t handle the pressure.

Breastfeeding is a job all on its own. Breastfeeding is not all butterflies and rainbows! This is my experiences with breastfeeding that I want to share with you.

My first pregnancy I was 18 and didn’t really have much support from her father at the time. I was really young and uneducated about having a baby altogether. I ended up breastfeeding and I did it for as much as I could handle back then which was two months. I broke down crying and have her the formula. I was so exhausted from being by myself mostly and I had a pump but never pumped. I have no clue why I didn’t but I’m pretty sure it had to do with being uneducated about having a baby altogether.

This time I found out I was pregnant I went and bought prenatal vitamins which I had to try a few different brands because I am not great at taking pills. Even in this pregnancy I still had trouble remembering to take them. I was definitely not perfect the second pregnancy but I was more aware of everything I did.

Baby Sammy was born in November of 2015 he is now almost 5 months old and he has been exclusively breastfed, and sometimes bottle fed breast milk. I am extremely proud of myself almost halfway to my goal. My initial goal is to breastfeed for a whole year and I know I can do this. Once he turns one I will hopefully continue to pump milk for him.

So since I’ve breastfed I’ve had mastitis once already, that is the not fun part! The link I connected to it is everything possible that could happen. So when I had it I started having flu like symptoms like normal and I just thought I was getting the flu. Then I started to have a clogged duct which was really red and painful for me on my right breast. So right away I went to the doctor and got prescribed medicine for it. I also got an ultrasound to make sure there wasn’t any abscess. Thankful I did not and just needed to start my antibiotics. I literally felt so weak and had the chills, cold,hot,& just awful. I pumped mostly during this time and bottle fed him my milk. I can say pumping and warm compresses helped. I was told to keep breastfeeding which will help you get rid of the infection faster because the infection doesn’t affect your milk. I was super happy about that because I really did not want to give Sammy formula! We got over that mountain thankfully and hopefully fingers crossed it didn’t happen again!

So also now I feel like a human pacifier sometimes. Like I said breastfeeding is a job and Sammy is almost 5 months and he is still eating every 3-4 hours and not sleeping through the night. I was not blessed with a baby who sleeps through the night but every baby is definitely different. I have tried multiple pacifiers and he definitely knows the difference between the two and I can’t trick him 😕. So we are also co sleeping because he’s a little booger and won’t sleep in his co sleeper. He still needs that comfort of someone by him or to hold him for sleeping.

Those are a few of my downsides to breast feeding but I definitely love it for the money saver but mostly the bonding that we get to have. Now he’s at the age where he’s laughing and smiling. Sometimes when he’s eating he looks up at me and smiles it’s the most awesome feeling! He’s just perfect in every way no matter what.

I could go on and on about the adventures of breastfeeding but for now I will keep it this way.

IMG_3508

img_3180-2

 

 

Leave a Reply

